Timeless

8 Apr

 

Occasionally, when I notice an estate sale sign in a yard, I will stop to see what is available.  While looking at the items for sale, I will invasion what the person was like based on their possessions now available to others.  At one such stop, I came upon this interesting box of clock parts.

box of clock parts©

I was not sure at the time what I would do with all the gears, face plates, and metal straps; but I couldn’t pass them up.  They reminded me of a time from the past; and, in this case, one person’s past.  When paying for the watch parts, the woman selling them asked that whatever I did create with the pieces of metal to bring it back to show her.  I felt these items were quite sentimental to her.

That has been well over a year now and I finally used a small portion of them in this ceramic sculpture.   With earthenware and black glaze and using a sqrafitto technique, I applied my take on patterns and design from the machine age of gears, belts and metals.   I wanted to create a piece that paid tribute to a time gone by and a tribute to one person’s machine age past, as well.

Earthenware and found objects

Timeless, earthenware and found objects, front view©

Timeless, top view

Timeless, top view©

 


2 Responses to “Timeless”

  1. emilysaylor April 8, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Amazing work!

  2. Julie Ury April 13, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Dear Sandy, I am amazed you remembered and were kind enough to let see the final result of the things you bought at my sale. It is really wondeful! It is always so much fun to see what you talented people “see” in these sort of things. My husband was very pleased with your creation. Thank you for letting me seee it. God’s blessing. Julie Ury

Leave a Reply

